CPU for Zenno Machine: Intel i7 vs AMD Ryzen

Aronax

Client
Регистрация
29.01.2015
Сообщения
105
Благодарностей
19
Баллы
18
I need to build a new machine, mainly for Zennoposter which will work with as many threads as possible on this new machine. Most of the templates are boosting video views (youtube, dailymotion etc). What CPU do you think I should buy?

Intel 8700k (6 cores, 12 threads) or AMD Ryzen 2700x/ 1800x (both have 8 cores, 16 threads)?

I would be more inclined to say that AMD Ryzen will be the best choice here, because its higher count of cores/ threads.
But the i7 has a higher clock speed.

What would you choose?

PS: in the last 15 years I've always preferred Intel cpu's...but it looks like AMD has finally came with something decent enough.
 

Tuw

Client
Регистрация
07.09.2014
Сообщения
430
Благодарностей
147
Баллы
43
For Zennoposter i'm suggesting you to buy Xeon processor
 

Tuw

Client
Регистрация
07.09.2014
Сообщения
430
Благодарностей
147
Баллы
43
And motherboard with 2x cpu sockets will be better, ofcourse if you have budget
 

Tuw

Client
Регистрация
07.09.2014
Сообщения
430
Благодарностей
147
Баллы
43
Yeah, sure. Here is example, workstation HP Z820, this machine has dual Xeon processors and it supports up to dual GPU(not sure for 1080)
 
  • Спасибо
Реакции: Aronax

EtaLasquera

Client
Регистрация
02.01.2017
Сообщения
368
Благодарностей
75
Баллы
28
Always deppends.
If you can use a lot of CPU, select ryzen, it have lower clock and more CPU's.
If you don't use all CPU, select intel because it can run in higher clocks and can run single threads faster.
We run projects in one threadripper 32x cpus with 128gb ram, sometimes we can use 28~30 cpu's at 100%.
GPU acceleration is not a great choice, we run with a gtx1050 and projects use near 20% of gpu during our maximum project usage.
 
  • Спасибо
Реакции: Aronax

Aronax

Client
Регистрация
29.01.2015
Сообщения
105
Благодарностей
19
Баллы
18
I ended up buying an HP Z820 workstation with dual xeon cpu's (E5 2680), having a total of 16 cores, 32 threads, 40 MB cache, 32 GB of RAM, SSD + HDD, nvidia qudro K4000 3GB, 1125W power source etc, all of them packed in a very smart case with excellent cooling solutions. The price for this workstation was $1300 which is just a bit higher than the price of the AMD Threadripper 1950x alone ($1000 in my country). Will definitely need to invest some more RAM memory and a better gpu (K4000 looks like it provides a perfromance which is similar with GT 1050...so I would be tempted to upgrade to 1060 or even 1080)

I'm not saying that this workstation would be better than a system which is using the a/m AMD cpu...but, cost wisely, the performance of this workstation is excellent.
The drawbacks: lower frequency compared to the Threadripper, reduced possibility of upgrade to the newest generation of cpu's, DDR3 memory.

I mention that, in my zenno projects which involve streaming youtube, the number of cpu cores is always the bottleneck.
 
  • Спасибо
Реакции: EtaLasquera

EtaLasquera

Client
Регистрация
02.01.2017
Сообщения
368
Благодарностей
75
Баллы
28
I ended up buying an HP Z820 workstation with dual xeon cpu's (E5 2680), having a total of 16 cores, 32 threads, 40 MB cache, 32 GB of RAM, SSD + HDD, nvidia qudro K4000 3GB, 1125W power source etc, all of them packed in a very smart case with excellent cooling solutions. The price for this workstation was $1300 which is just a bit higher than the price of the AMD Threadripper 1950x alone ($1000 in my country). Will definitely need to invest some more RAM memory and a better gpu (K4000 looks like it provides a perfromance which is similar with GT 1050...so I would be tempted to upgrade to 1060 or even 1080)

I'm not saying that this workstation would be better than a system which is using the a/m AMD cpu...but, cost wisely, the performance of this workstation is excellent.
The drawbacks: lower frequency compared to the Threadripper, reduced possibility of upgrade to the newest generation of cpu's, DDR3 memory.

I mention that, in my zenno projects which involve streaming youtube, the number of cpu cores is always the bottleneck.
In my country the same machine cost U$3750 :p
Our amd server cost U$1400.
Fucking dollar.
 
Регистрация
16.05.2014
Сообщения
132
Благодарностей
13
Баллы
18
What about Ryzen compatibility? For example thats an error i receive in codecreator while runing ryzen


Type Time Message
19:13:34 C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\Microsoft.Common.targets The reference assemblies for framework ".NETFramework,Version=v4.5.2" were not found. To resolve this, install the SDK or Targeting Pack for this framework version or retarget your application to a version of the framework for which you have the SDK or Targeting Pack installed. Note that assemblies will be resolved from the Global Assembly Cache (GAC) and will be used in place of reference assemblies. Therefore your assembly may not be correctly targeted for the framework you intend.. [Row 983; Column 5]


Type Time Message
19:13:34 C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\Microsoft.Common.targets There was a mismatch between the processor architecture of the project being built "MSIL" and the processor architecture of the reference "mscorlib", "AMD64". This mismatch may cause runtime failures. Please consider changing the targeted processor architecture of your project through the Configuration Manager so as to align the processor architectures between your project and references, or take a dependency on references with a processor architecture that matches the targeted processor architecture of your project.. [Row 1605; Column 5]
 

EtaLasquera

Client
Регистрация
02.01.2017
Сообщения
368
Благодарностей
75
Баллы
28
Today we stuck a machine who run with 12 cores at 100% hardware use.
It's time to upgrade hardware!
 

Вложения

Регистрация
16.05.2014
Сообщения
132
Благодарностей
13
Баллы
18
Take a look at Ryzen 3900x 3950x
 

EtaLasquera

Client
Регистрация
02.01.2017
Сообщения
368
Благодарностей
75
Баллы
28
We are waiting for 3950x ;-)
 

EtaLasquera

Client
Регистрация
02.01.2017
Сообщения
368
Благодарностей
75
Баллы
28
Cheapest x570 to use a pcie 4 nvme hard drive, we will look for a 64gb 3200 ddr4 kits and no video card, we will use only for Zenno and have a good GPU improve performance in only 3%.
 
Регистрация
16.05.2014
Сообщения
132
Благодарностей
13
Баллы
18
Cheapest x570 to use a pcie 4 nvme hard drive, we will look for a 64gb 3200 ddr4 kits and no video card, we will use only for Zenno and have a good GPU improve performance in only 3%.
Whats the difference in PCIe 4 nvme vs normal nvme slot in these mobos? The are both pci-e lanes. I strongly disagree on cheapest mobos, you are going to use 12 core CPU so your VRMs should be at least decent, take a look at this spreadsheet https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1wmsTYK9Z3-jUX5LGRoFnsZYZiW1pfiDZnKCjaXyzd1o/edit#gid=2112472504 and look at real phases. Also what do you think about overclocking the CPU to gain the same MHZ on all cores? For ex. my Ryzen 1700x i am on 3.8 mhz on all cores with 1.275 vcore.
 

EtaLasquera

Client
Регистрация
02.01.2017
Сообщения
368
Благодарностей
75
Баллы
28
We don't work with overclock because we work with a different data mining concept and the information can't be miss.
As everyone know, you overclock your PC for gaming because the only one problem with gaming is you game crash.
If you overclock a machine who work with render process and supose a render take 18 hours of 100% processor stress, you will not overclock your machine because you render can be 8% faster as well you can get 8% chance of error during your render.
We work with SQL server databases (a lot!) and get 8% more performance to take a chance of 8% error in data query / execute is not a good choice.
As well PCIE4 can do a lot of better bandwith compare with PCIE3 nvme, I'm not talking about gaming load scenes, etc. In our job most queries work with 8~256kb, and in these specific conditions we can get a big update from 80MB/s PCIE3 to 550MB/s on PCIE4.
If you dont work with overclock you don't need fear agasint VRM. We don't use a A320 because it don't have PCIE4, as well if you watch bencharks on A320 and top x570 you will see a diference of performance in 1~3%, for us, this no performance gain.
A computer must be black, have a good cooling and work quiet without errors, I don't like enthusiast who make a PC as a japanese car with Neon, flash lights, Jaspion, etc.
 
  • Спасибо
Реакции: r2d2br
Регистрация
16.05.2014
Сообщения
132
Благодарностей
13
Баллы
18
We work with SQL server databases (a lot!)
I thought you are using ZennoPoster only...

We don't work with overclock because we work with a different data mining concept and the information can't be miss.
As everyone know, you overclock your PC for gaming because the only one problem with gaming is you game crash.
While i am not saying that you should overlock; Thats why you have software for error testing. I want to get maximum performance for the bucks i paid, and i never had any errors. For AMD ryzen the core boost works differently (not all cores hit advertised boost) so overclocking to stable MHZ on all cores is a good way to gain performance in multi threaded software.

If you overclock a machine who work with render process and supose a render take 18 hours of 100% processor stress, you will not overclock your machine because you render can be 8% faster as well you can get 8% chance of error during your render.
Did you ever overlock and got errors? Means you overclocked badly.

As well PCIE4 can do a lot of better bandwith compare with PCIE3 nvme, I'm not talking about gaming load scenes, etc. In our job most queries work with 8~256kb, and in these specific conditions we can get a big update from 80MB/s PCIE3 to 550MB/s on PCIE4.
But all lanes (on x570) are PCIE4 right ? So NVMe slot on the motherboard is directly connected to the CPU on a PCIE4 lane ? Why use external PCIE then (more disks?) Keep in mind that some mobos lower the PCIE to 2.0 if you connect NVME into 2nd M2 slot.

If you dont work with overclock you don't need fear agasint VRM.
This is untrue while you add cores. I dont mean you need 14 phases... but overall better VRMs (better quality and more phases) means longer lifespan for your system.

A computer must be black, have a good cooling and work quiet without errors, I don't like enthusiast who make a PC as a japanese car with Neon, flash lights, Jaspion, etc.
A computer must be whatever you want it to be, while i dont have this kind of flashy computer, looks like you've got hate towards gamers why?
 

EtaLasquera

Client
Регистрация
02.01.2017
Сообщения
368
Благодарностей
75
Баллы
28
Yo Willi! I'm gamer too.
 

Кто просматривает тему: (Всего: 1, Пользователи: 0, Гости: 1)